Deadline:  April 15, 2019

Dear LeadingAge Kansas Member:

The Association is seeking applicants to serve as part of our high-functioning, effective and forward-thinking Board of Directors.

According to the LeadingAge Kansas bylaws, the Nominating Committee is charged with screening and selecting the slate of Candidates to be presented for election at the spring membership meeting. This year the election will be held the morning of May 8th, in conjunction with the Spring Conference in Wichita.

Committee members include the Immediate Past Chair of the Board, another Past Chair, and another individual representing a full LeadingAge Kansas member who is not a member of the Board. The Nominating Committee Chair is the Immediate Past Chair of the Board.

Positions up for election this year include:

  • 2 board member vacancies
  • 1 board member seeking re-election
  • Chair (Current chair is seeking another term)
  • Chair Elect (Current chair elect is seeking another term)

The Nominating Committee reviews the skills and attributes of the existing board to identify gaps that may need filling. They examine each applicant’s qualifications, skills and attributes, history of participation in the programs of the association, and letter/s of recommendation. In addition, they conduct a telephone interview to get better acquainted and to answer questions about board member responsibilities.

We welcome you to carefully read the enclosed materials and decide if you want to apply for a position on the LeadingAge Kansas Board… or encourage someone else who you believe could make a significant contribution to do so.


Nate GlendeningNominating Committee Chair, Phillips County Retirement Center, Phillipsburg

Kevin Reimer, Pleasant View, Inman 

Blair LoganbillKidron Bethel Village, Hutchinson North Newton

P.S. Please feel free to call Nate Glendening or Debra Zehr if you have questions.


The Board of Directors includes a Chair, Chair-Elect, Immediate Past Chair, and as many additional at-large directors as necessary to equal twelve to fifteen directors. Board members must be employees or board members of LeadingAge Kansas member organizations, or employees or board members of LeadingAge Kansas member multi-site corporate offices. The Chair and Chair-Elect serve one year terms, and may succeed themselves in office for one additional term. Directors serve three-year terms and may succeed themselves for one additional term. Terms begin following election at the annual meeting in April.

Nominating Committee

A three person Nominating Committee is appointed by the Board Chair each year. It is to consist of the immediate past chair, another past chair, and another individual representing a full LeadingAge Kansas member who is not a member of the Board. The 2019 Nominating Committee includes Nate Glendening – Committee Chair, Kevin Reimer and Blair Loganbill.

Board openings To be Filled at May 8, 2019 Election

The following positions will be up for election at the May 8, 2019 member business meeting during the Annual Convention in Wichita:

  • James Krehbiel, 2nd term complete in 2019
  • Vacant position to be filled in 2019
  • Jamie Frazier, 1st term (seeking 2nd term)

Selection Criteria and Process

The Nominating Committee reviews the profile of existing board members, candidate qualifications and references, conducts telephone interviews, and receives input from the President as requested. Factors taken into consideration in nominee selection:

  • Length of service with a LeadingAge Kansas member organization
  • Extent of past involvement in LeadingAge Kansas activities
  • Geographic location and organizational type
  • Experience and knowledge in representing the interests and concerns of not-for-profit providers
  • Professional skill set and expertise
  • Commitment of time and resources necessary to fully participate as a board member
  • Commitment to the well-being of the association

The Nominating Committee selects candidates for Chair and Chair-Elect based on:

  • Length of time the person has served on the LeadingAge Kansas Board
  • Record of full participation as a board member and commitment to the well-being of the association
  • Type of organization compared to previous office holder
  • Leadership talent

LeadingAge Kansas Board 2018-2019
as of April 2018 election


Chair – Crystal Packard (seeking 2nd term)

Chair-Elect - Ed Strahm (Seeking 2nd term)

Immediate Past Chair - Nate Glendening

Treasurer - Jason Stucky

Secretary – Joe Ewert 

Class of 2020

Jason Stucky, 2nd term            Pine Village, Moundridge

Joe Ewert, 2nd term                 Brewster, Topeka

 Courtney Wolfe, 1st term        Wichita Presbyterian Manor

Chris Osborn, 1st term            Evergreen Community of Johnson County, Olathe

Karen Sturchio, 1st term         Kansas Christian Home, Newton

Teresa McComb, 1st term       Logan Manor Community Health Services, Logan 

Class of 2021 

Lonnie Baker, 2nd term           Meadowlark Hills, Manhattan

Rhonda Parks, 2nd term           Presbyterian Manors of Mid-America

Ryan Endsley, 1st term            Ascension Senior Living


Click to View Board Member Job Description
Click to View Board Responsibilities
Click to Submit Nomination